Return to Headlines

Teacher of the Year Finalists 2019

The QACPS Prize Patrol toured the county as Dr. Andrea Kane informed our five finalists who had been selected based on their written submissions. The next step in the Teacher of the Year process is when the finalist present, answering a set of questions, to the TOY Committee on April 8th. The name of the QACPS 2019 Teacher of the Year will be announced at our QACPS Gala on April 12th at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club in Stevensville.

And here are the Finalists...


2019 TOY Finalists with Dr. Andrea Kane

Andy Anders & Dr. Kane

Andrew Anders
Centreville Middle School

Heather Efland, Dr Kane and Theresa Farnell

Heather Efland
Centreville Elementary School
(with Dr. Kane and CES principal Theresa Farnell)

William Hazy

William Hazy
Kent Island High School

K Herold

Kelly Herold
Matapeake Elementary School

Susan Kinnamon

 Susan Kinnamon
Matapeake Elementary School